Thread: Zen and Science

Zen and Science

Soto Zen teacher talks for approx. 11 minutes.

Any comments?

Forums Member
    I remember an Open University course I did many years ago. It was a one year course on inquiry, the tools we use to explore life, the universe and everything, from art to mathematics. I think it was one of the best courses I have ever taken part in and it has stayed with me for the last thirty odd years, especially as I was a Primary school teacher and had to teach everything from art to mathematics. It started me questioning what is unique about each area I was teaching- what can art offer that mathematics can't, and vice versa. In fact it got me into Buddhism since I started to explore what the spiritual world, and eventually Buddhism, can uniquely offer as a form of inquiry.

In some ways each becomes a tool to be used for the job it was designed to do. If you want to go to the moon use maths, science, technology and so on. If you want to explore what it feels like to see a wonderful moonrise over the sea, then go to the arts and poetry, and so on. The problems start when one type of inquiry demands authority over another, when it matters to people whether their version of reality needs something to 'be' or not. We've seen this through history with Galileo and Darwin coming up with things that offended certain religious groups. Which still goes on today, of course.