Thread: Meditation

Forums Member

Meditation

I am new to Buddhism however I think I naturally use a Buddhist method whilst meditating. I have never been thought how to meditate but about a year ago decided to meditate on the breath. Initially I followed it but sometimes found myself regulating it and other times leading it. My question is do people using methods for meditation become aware of sensations within as I have initially found around the heart which when focused on released a lot of emotion. Or is this just my imagination?

Technical Administrator woodscooter's Avatar
    When I was taught meditation, the emphasis was very much on awareness of the breath, whether each cycle of breathing was long and deep breath or more shallow. Whether you could feel the air passing through the nose, or the top lip.

It was all about being aware and mindful of the process of breathing, holding concentration and awareness in equal parts.

That's by no means the only way to learn how to meditate. There are many other approaches, some with eyes open, some with eyes closed, sometimes using a candle or an image as the focus of concentration (eyes open, or half-closed for that).

I'm not a meditation teacher, so all I can give you is my own take on the question you asked. There's a common instruction in Buddhist meditation that you accept whatever comes into your head while meditating, but you make a point of not following the thought-pattern.

You let go of the thought, returning attention to the breath or other object of meditation as soon as you can, as soon as you recognise that you have turned attention away from the breath.