Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Dealing with difficult emotions

Dealing with difficult emotions

Hi everyone!

So, this morning (it's Monday) I had to write an email to my supervisor (I am a PhD student). She and I do not have a good relationship and it has always caused me a big anxiety to interact with her.
    I spent the whole weekend obsessing about the email, and how I should write it, and what she would answer and what were all the possible scenarios that would open up. This morning I spent two hours drowning in my anxiety about it.

Now, of course I tried to understand how I should handle this from a Buddhist point of view.
    The first thing that came to my mind is: "You should not try to make this emotion go away or resist it. You should not tell yourself that you're not supposed to be anxious or that it is just a stupid email and there's no reason to freak out about it. Let the anxiety be there. Know that it will pass and just accept that this is how you feel right now. You cannot "solve" it, you just have to be here with it without identifying with it."
    The second thing that came to my mind is: "Try to use gentle curiosity. Try to see how this feels, where it is in the body, and try maybe to do some sitting meditation. Stay in the present." I tried to inquire as how it feels inside my chest and stomach, and then I tried to do sitting meditation but all I could do was reformulating the email in my head and thinking about how my supervisor would react and so on and so I decided to stop the session because it was just fueling my anxiety with thoughts.
    Essentially my emotion stayed the same, the difference was maybe that I tried not to consider it a problem but to be compassionate about it.

Now what I want to ask is:
    First, is this the correct way (and by "correct" I mean "skillful" or "right" from a Buddhist point of view) to deal with these situations?