PDA

View Full Version : New member looking for guidance

otherright
07 Jun 11, 23:18
Hello everyone. I thought I’d introduce myself and share why I’m here, and what brought me here.

I am a lifelong student of philosophy and religion having majored in it in college. Oddly enough, though out my studies, I only brushed against Buddhism academically. The bulk of my studies were refined to Classical Hellenism and Epistemology in philosophy and Christianity in my religious studies.

Years ago, I came to the epiphany that the reason why I’d consumed so many volumes on Christian theological doctrine was not because I believed, but that I didn’t believe, and was forcing myself to try and maintain a dogma that no longer supported my views.

I began a study in Higher and Lower criticisms and very quickly, the very core of my writings and lectures fell to pieces. So I took another path, one that led me to start a serious research for a book on aspects of human spirituality without dogmatic structures. This led to extended periods of isolation and reflection on the nature of man and the role of religion. I was searching for a faceless religion. I was looking for how science says it works.

About six months ago, while researching I came across a book on the science of Buddhism. It contained about ninety percent of what I’d been observing through my studies. There really is no going back now. I’ve never seen anything more clearly in my life.

So, for about six months now, I’ve been reading Buddhist texts, trying to find what it means to me. It took some time for me to take this step, but now I am ready. I have reached a point where I am seeking the like-minded, where I am looking for direction, and need help.

That is why I have come here, to embrace this new philosophy and to be near those who can help guide me. I hope to find that here. Thank you for taking the time to read this. Any suggestions on where to start.

Esho
08 Jun 11, 03:35
Hello otheright!