PDA

View Full Version : Why the first of the Four Noble Truths?

cranreuch
08 Mar 11, 20:33
I'm very new to Buddhism, so this may be a FAQ.

Can someone explain the significance of the first of the four noble truths -- i.e. that suffering exists? My confusion arises simply from the fact that, well, isn't that obvious? Maybe it was simply that -- stating the obvious -- but I'm wondering if there was perhaps some deeper thing going on.

For example, was it maybe the case that the forms of spirituality common around the time of the Buddha (some forms of Hinduism perhaps) held that suffering was simply an illusion? In which case, the first of the FNT's is really:

1. No, people, you're not imagining it. That suffering thing is real.

thanks for any advice
c

Aloka
08 Mar 11, 21:23
Hi Cranreuch and welcome.

Dukkha is probably better explained as being unsatisfactoriness or dissatisfaction. We can often get caught up in our own little emotional dramas of one kind or another and of 'me' and 'mine' in our lives and we are constantly reacting and acting in relation to others and to the world around us in general. This is because of our attachment, desires ,anger, delusion etc. So its mostly mental suffering and we don't know how to recognise and overcome it.

I'm afraid I don't know enough about the other spiritual beliefs in India at the time of the Buddha to be able to comment on their approach towards this issue.

Kind wishes,

A-D

Esho
08 Mar 11, 23:04
Why the first of the Four Noble Truths?

Maybe because it is the first outstanding awakening we can experience. We have a huge bunch of means so not to see the messy way we live our life.

Just as Dazz has wrote:

We can often get caught up in our own little emotional dramas of one kind or another and of 'me' and 'mine' in our lives and we are constantly reacting and acting in relation to others and to the world around us in general.

daverupa
08 Mar 11, 23:22