PDA

View Full Version : Critical Thinking

daverupa
18 Jul 17, 19:25
Without constraining responses by using a poll, I want to ask:

1. To what extent is critical thinking an essential component of contemplative practice? (Here is a definition (http://www.criticalthinking.org/pages/defining-critical-thinking/766) & discussion of that term) What, if anything, is as important - or even more important - than critical thinking with respect to examining contemplative claims & practices?

(And you know, let me also ask:

2. Who has/has not taken e.g. college classes in critical thinking, or otherwise engaged in a specific attempt to learn it?)

CedarTree
18 Jul 17, 21:27
Actual practice.

I studied logic and philosophy in school. Deep meditation practice provides experiential content and the "well" for were that Philosophy and logic is later formalized.

They all work together it's why every religion (most of) stress practice and yet have a large philosophical and apologetics library.

Usually it goes like this deep experiences and understanding the nature of life and such - Philosophy trying to codify and explain experience content - Lastly apologetics. Apologetics is usually the worst of the worst material but it's how a lot of people have to function in the beginning of their practice and or quest for truth. Still is a pretty terrible arena lol

Element
19 Jul 17, 00:20
The Pali suttas are exceptionally clear about how to practise therefore no critical thinking is required in this respect.

Here, genuine contemplative practise has its sole foundation in "vossagga" ("letting go"; "relinquishment"), as described in SN 48.10 & also at the end of MN 118 (in relation to the seven factors of enlightenment). The entirety of contemplative practise is as described in the meditation suttas as: 'abandoning covetousness & distress in relation to everything'.