PDA

View Full Version : Thank you for listening; need guidance

stephanie
02 Oct 13, 17:26
Hello all, I sincerely hope that I have not missed a thread regarding this;

I am relatively new to practice, though my understanding of our nature is one of some clarity; the problem I am facing is that the people with whom I live, are incredibly nihilistic; my family was raised in such a way that we were taught to believe in nothing, and have no interest in the finer workings of life. Until recently i also held this view, due to an awakening of sorts, I see the bigger picture. My first reaction was one of wanting to tell everyone with definitive proof what I have learned. I quickly found that quantum physics and personal investigation is thought by my family and peers of as unnecessary, boring, and hokey. I have really no one to speak about any of this with, other than a center that is quite far from me and because of time and travel, takes a lot from my family when I attend (though I know the importance of doing so, I am being considered selfish). My question is this... If this is a common occurrence, our family and loved ones not understanding our seemingly religious pursuits, and not really listening when we tell them why we are doing it., how have any of you dealt with this? Thank you so much for taking the time to read this post, any information is greatly appreciated, even if it is redirection to another thread. Thank you!!!
Stephanie

Aloka
02 Oct 13, 18:35
Hi Stephanie,

It's not really that unusual for friends and family to be suspicious and less than helpful if they know little or nothing about Buddhism and don't feel the need for spiritual investigation in their own lives.

I wouldn't worry about it too much, you can gradually learn to demonstrate without words how the Dhamma is benefiting you, by your patience and kindness towards others and making your daily life your practice.