PDA

View Full Version : Afraid of other people.

Azurewoodland
28 Aug 13, 20:44
Hello,

I am fairly new to Buddhism and it is only recently that I have started actually pursuing it. I've been struggling with being afraid of people for a while now, not afraid in the sense I cannot leave my house or anything but just in unfamiliar social situations. I find it difficult to make eye contact or hold it, I am very introverted I suppose and dread meeting new people. I do love others, but I don't trust people. It takes me a painfully long time to be comfortable around someone new. Often times people think I am stuck up or snotty, which is sad for me as its not at all how I feel. If anyone has any advice on how to be more openly loving, or how I should confront the fear of others I would be most grateful. I have dealing with this myself for so long, I just think that getting outside opinions might be helpful. ;D Thanks !

Aloka
28 Aug 13, 21:25
Hello and welcome, Azurewoodland :wave:

I understand what you mean about feeling anxious about new social situations but I think sometimes we don't always appreciate the fact that those other people might be feeling just as uncertain and shy as we are!

Perhaps doing some meditation practice regularly might help you to relax more? You only need do about 10 mins each session to begin with and we have a "meditation room" here with a timer you can use.

http://www.buddhismwithoutboundaries.com/meditationroom.php

This is a nice little beginners meditation guide "Finding the Missing Peace" by Ajahn Amaro (who's the abbot of a monastery here in the UK) which you might like to browse:

http://amaravati.org/downloads/pdf/finding_the_missing_peace.pdf

I hope that helps a little.

With metta,

Aloka :hands:

CatontheRoof
28 Aug 13, 21:59
Hello! :up2: