PDA

View Full Version : Completely New to Buddhism

tnagi
12 Feb 13, 13:12
Hello everyone, I am completely new to Buddhism and was wondering if anyone had any suggestions on what I should start reading. Any perfect books for the serious beginner?

I guess I'll share some of my background as well, since this is an introduction; I was raised a Christian and was seriously committed to my church for years up until I was about 21. At that point, I decided to start re-reading the Bible not as a believer but as a non-believer, and to see if the Bible seemed convincing. I found too many philosophical contradictions and slowly lost my faith in Biblical Christianity. I started college around that time too, and am now in my fourth year as an undergrad physics major. I have been married to my wife for 6 years and have a two year old son, whom I love more than anything. I also work (to support my family, of course!), so I am busy and often stressed.

One of the great things about being a member of a church was that there was a constant focus on how you were living your life, and how you could better serve others. I think the most important thing is to love others, but I lose my focus because of my busy life and the fact that I have no faith or community to keep me focused. I think that's what draws me to Buddhism now. That and the fact that you can be agnostic and be a Buddhist.

Aloka
12 Feb 13, 13:43
Hello and a warm welcome tnagi ! :wave:

Thank you for introducing yourself.

Hello everyone, I am completely new to Buddhism and was wondering if anyone had any suggestions on what I should start reading. Any perfect books for the serious beginner?

Would you mind asking questions in the 'Discovering Buddha's Teachings' forum, please. This area is just for introductions and welcomes .

There are some pinned introductory resources at the beginning of the threads in that forum and theres a recent suggested reading thread which also might be helpful to you at this link....