PDA

View Full Version : Thank you for being here.

jukes
14 Oct 12, 03:49
I am new. But any time a group of people join together to form a community, it is a wonderful thing. I look forward to getting to know you.

I am very new to Buddhism, but it has already made my life better. I've tried meditating in the past, and just felt... silly. I spent the whole time like, "ok, I'm waiting... Nothing is happening!" And then by chance I was introduce to a book by Thich Naht Hahn and it instantly changed me. Since then I have been reading more and more about Buddhism.

I have considered myself a Unitarian. I adore my church and the community. The weird part about Unitarianism is that they would still welcome me even if I were a Buddhist.

So I am here to learn more. That's a very abridged version of my story.

Element
14 Oct 12, 03:53
Thank you also, Jukes. Please feel welcome

Kind regards

Element

;D

Trilaksana
14 Oct 12, 04:10
Welcome jukes! I was raised going to a Unitarian Universalist meeting house. I have a lot of respect for their religious education program.

Aloka
14 Oct 12, 04:29
Hi Jukes,

Welcome to BWB !

with kind wishes,

Aloka :hands:

jukes
14 Oct 12, 04:55
Thank you all. Element, i particularly appreciate the video you put up about Eckhart Tolle.

Upon listening to him I thought, "YES! He is right!" But then I hit a point in my life (right now actually) where I tried to apply his "wisdom" and it failed me completely. I am suffering. It is because I have been greedy and ignorant. So here comes karma. I wish I could "live in the now". But the fact is I have destroyed the path on which I was walking. I need a new path. I suffer. But I no longer wish to make others suffer. I need the Buddha, not Tolle.

woodscooter
16 Oct 12, 10:29
Hi Jukes,

Welcome to Buddhism Without Boundaries!

Woodscooter

Lorelen
21 Oct 12, 13:35