PDA

View Full Version : I have some description of why i'm asking along with a question about Zen Buddhism.

david002
27 Sep 12, 15:48
:hands: Hello everyone.

I am going to use terms which most likely indicate that I am very new in my practice of Buddhism :lol:

By short periods of meditating and reading some material on the basics of Buddhism I have felt very good inside and I feel as if I am gradually becoming more at peace with myself and the rest of existence.

I admit that I am a very very new Buddhist. I am always learning, and I hope that I always will be learning.;D

I privately took refuge in the three jewels and I am a Buddhist also in that I have (as a newbie) started meditating for short periods and I have been reading material on Buddhism.

I know there is no magic in taking refuge, but I did so privately just because it gave me encouragement.

My life has been deeply touched by a famous Buddhist monk named Thich Nhat Hanh. I read part of a book that he wrote while I was in a drug and alcohol rehab about 3 years ago.

I was very moved by his beliefs in regards to Jesus from a Buddhist perspective. I know that Thich Nhat Hanh does not believe that Jesus is the son of an almighty God therefore making him divine, but I was humbled I think by his reverence and open mindedness towards a person from another faith background.

I think it moved me more, because for most of my life I was theistic (god believing), and his open mindedness was so very touching to me. I no longer believe in a personal creator God, but I respect those who do.

Because the peace and inspiration that I have felt from Thich Nhat Hanh's writings, I have decided to pursue Zen Buddhism at some point. I am a Buddhist, but my question is.......

Do you have to go to a temple and formally take refuge in say a Zen Buddhist way to be a Zen Buddhist?