PDA

View Full Version : hello everyone

hornets
06 Mar 12, 10:12
I'm really impressed with this site and am getting so much from it already. Thank you all.

I've been stumbling and bumbling through Buddhadhamma for quite some time. The internet can be both a massive help and an infuriating hindrance I've found these last few years. Now I've settled on a path I'm comfortable with I'll probably not keep spending my limited resources on buying books off the internet that are either plain barmy, cynical cash-ins, or study aids to Doctoral theses with more footnotes than actual content! My local Oxfam must have the biggest Buddhist book section in the UK.

My offline search has been fairly hard-going. I spent a week doing residential volunteering at a centre that I'm fairly certain could be classed as 'cult-like'. It was very powerful mind ju-ju they dished out for a total novice to meditation like myself and some things just didn't seem quite right whilst I was there, and it was only back in the real world (and going on the internet) that I realised my concerns were valid. Some really nice people there, but no one tells me what I should or shouldn't read, let alone what to think. The come-down from that experience was quite intense and depressing for some time. I then spent weeks rushing home from work to go battling through insane traffic (my poor small-town head!) to attend meditation classes at a city-centre-based place that helped in some respects but not much in many others. Again, some great people but just not for me.