PDA

View Full Version : Zen Buddhists

Madina-Spike
21 Jan 12, 12:39
Hi all!

Just a brief, non-related-to-anything question. Are there any Zen Buddhist members? Zen totally does it for me. Its the branch of Buddhism I can relate to the most. I'm great at making no sense! Would love to hear how other Zen students are getting on.

Chai yen :hands:

Trilaksana
21 Jan 12, 16:36
We have some Zen Buddhist members here, myself included.

Madina-Spike
21 Jan 12, 18:09
Hi Trilaksana! Brilliant. I've been studying for a couple of years now, but I need focus. Can you help please?

Trilaksana
21 Jan 12, 18:39
Well I haven't even been studying for a year but maybe I could help. One of the other Zen Buddhists on here recommended the book Zen Mind Beginner's Mind by Shunryu Suzuki. Definitely has made a huge positive impact on my practice. So if you haven't read that I highly recommend it. There's actually a recorded reading of the book on youtube.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X1xoEawM3xw

Madina-Spike
21 Jan 12, 18:50
Anything you could suggest would be more than welcome. I tend to live Zen more than know much about it. I feel I should understand more about it, but I've always tried to keep my reading material limited.

Trilaksana
21 Jan 12, 20:22
I definitely am sympathetic with that approach I agree in many ways but to me that book seems like a must read. Any particular part of your practice that you're struggling with?

Madina-Spike
21 Jan 12, 20:39
My meditation. I started with a Tibetan style of meditation, but as Zen worked its way into me with its discarding of pretty much everything, (lol!) I don't know what to meditate about! I can concentrate on my breathing, but I don't know if there's something else I should be doing.

CowpieDan
21 Jan 12, 21:11
Hi