PDA

View Full Version : Allow me to introduce myself/notself :P

rlp7786
21 Nov 11, 10:41
Hello, my name is Ron. Ive been studying religion since I was about 13 years old. Im 25 now. Im a relatively nice guy even if at times I do get frustrated with the ignorance in the world. Ive flirted with Buddhism alot in the past. Only recently have I actually begun to really "get" it. My dream is to see a modernization of Buddhism and a Unification of all the different sects, because I truly believe through my readings of them that they all teach the same truth. It would be wonderful if there was no more Shin Buddhism, Tibetan Buddhism, Theravada Buddhism, Nicheren Buddhism, Won Buddhism, Zen Buddhism, etc., but simply BUDDHA DHARMA. I still have alot to learn and a long way to go. An eternity really :cool: I look forward to discussing things and both being helped by and helping others.

Aloka
21 Nov 11, 10:55
Hello Ron, I think I already welcomed you in another thread - but welcome again - and thanks for telling us something about yourself !

with kind wishes,

Aloka-D ;D

My dream is to see a modernization of Buddhism and a Unification of all the different sectsThat's quite some dream you have there. It will not happen, not in 20.000 years would it happen. Think of any group of people you like, religious or not. After some time together they will split into 2 camps, those who want to stick with tradition and those who want to modernise to meet the current situation. This has been the basic reason for all groups splitting over the years and Buddhism is no exception.

rlp7786
21 Nov 11, 12:17