PDA

View Full Version : A question about the Bodhisattva Vow

Shyyoungd
19 Jul 11, 19:47
I am extremely new to the practice of Buddhism - I began during the week of June 19-25, 2011. So it has been perhaps slightly less than a month now... I am seeking feedback on an expereince I don't understand too well.

On Saturday the 16th of July, 2011 - those in attendance of a workshop on Bodhichtta were invited to take Bodhisattva Vows by the Rinpoche. I was among those who took the vows.

I am not sure I understand how this process operates ( I an not referring to a personal level concerning one's own conduct) but in the context of how this proceess typically occurs or at what point, sequencially, this ussually happens.

Also it is not completely clear if these vows are typically requested by the practitioner or offered by the Director of the Sangha. or whomever...

Is taking Refuge in the Buddha a prelimenary step?

Then again, I have seen the Bodhisattva Vow written about in the context of ordination for what I believe is for monks or nuns, is that inherent in that process as well?

Any feedback you could provide would be very helpful. Thank you in advance.

Aloka
19 Jul 11, 20:05
Welcome to the group, Shyoungd,

Its usual to take Refuge in a ceremony first and then take Bodhisattva vows afterwards or later. That's how I did it myself at any rate.

I am requesting that a moderator move this question to the Tibetan Buddhist forum because it is tradition specific. One of our offline experienced practitioners who has taken the Bodhisattva vows themselves should be able to continue discussing it with you. If not, I will return myself to discuss with you at another time.

with kind wishes,

A-D ;D

srivijaya
19 Jul 11, 21:52
Hi Shy,